Pain Treatment and Relief Testimonials

from Advanced Centers’ patients

For decades, patients have been coming to see Dr. Patel with the hope that he could make their headaches or pain or snoring go away. Over the course of those years, hundreds of those same patients have found the relief they were seeking when other options didn’t work.

Of the dozens of patients who have expressed their gratitude over the years, none may be as expressive as this:

“Dr. Patel has given me my life back. After suffering miserably for over a year and visiting approximately 70 to 80 doctors in the Chicagoland area, Dr. Patel was able to correctly diagnose and begin correcting my symptoms in weeks.

I was on the verge of losing my marriage, job, home, and cars, as I was barely able to function. I currently have over $60,000 in medical bills. I had seizures, problems concentrating and thinking, hearing and vision loss. I clocked up 10 hours on the MRI table at different medical institutions. I was told I had incurable diseases or conditions like Meniere’s disease, MS, or Lou Gehrig’s disease.

When I came into Dr. Patel’s office I had immediately come from another doctor that told me that she had no idea what was wrong with me. Dr. Patel explained to me what was wrong with me – I had TMJ. I was put in a dental appliance made by Dr. Patel and his staff and gradually over the course of the next few weeks my symptoms became less and less noticeable.

Today, I am back at work and able to think. Today, I am on the road to recovery. Dr. Patel and his staff have helped me beyond comprehension. This letter does not put into perspective the level of suffering I went through or the level or relief I have experienced from Dr. Patel’s care.”

-Ryan

If you are experiencing any of the symptoms described it is important to seek medical attention. Dr. Patel is happy discuss your symptoms and treatment options, as well as answer any questions you might have.

“I now have my life back..”
Lisa R.

5/6/19

I came to Dr. Patel with so much jaw, ear, eye, neck, throat, and head pain I had fallen into a depression. From the moment I walked in Annmarie made me feel welcome and at ease and reassured me that with Dr. Patel I would be better soon. After 2 weeks with my appliance I am happy again, almost all pain gone! Dr. Patel is a magician! I cried from pain my first visit and now I cry with joy form relief. Thank you Dr. Patel for giving me my life back!

Dee C.

5/6/19

I have never written a review; however, I felt the need to let the world know how life changing Dr. Patel and his staff have been for me.

After having migraines, light sensitivity, dizziness for YEARS and going to so many “specialist’s” Dr. Patel was the only one who could help me. After only wearing my appliance for one week all my symptoms were 90% better!

Dr. Patel and his staff present themselves with the utmost compassion and integrity. They are more like a caring family than a dentist office.

Brandyn K.

5/2/19

I came to Dr. Patel from a different TMS specialist, and the experience is night and day. Dr. Patel cares about his patients and wants them to excel in feeling like the best person they can be. I suffered from headaches, severe migraines, trouble chewing, neck pain, and upper back pain. Two months into splint therapy with Dr. Patel there was a major turn around with my symptoms. Now I’ve been headache, neck pain, eye pain, and migraine free for almost 5 months. It does work and is 100% worth going through the splint therapy process.

Bradley A.

5/1/19

I’ve been dealing with TMJ for nearly 10 years. I’ve neglected treatment for many years mainly from financial fear and the thought that it just wouldn’t help. Not even two weeks into treatment with Dr. Patel it’s already been worth every penny. The first thing I noticed was my sleep improved tremendously. I haven’t woke up to popping, cracking and headaches. Overall, all of my daily pains and chronic headaches have subsided. Dr. Patel and everyone here have been great to see helping me through this. Thank you all!

Beth W.

3/21/19

I have only been wearing my TMJ appliance for one week, but I have already seen marked improvements in my ability to open and move my jaw. I feel confident that I will continue to see an increase in the mobility in the weeks to come.

The staff is friendly and always helpful in answering all of my questions. They were very welcoming from the moment I arrived.

Dr. Patel makes me feel assured that I will regain most, if not all of my ability to move my jaw again. He, too, is very friendly and welcoming. I greatly appreciated his phone call to check on me the day after I obtained my TMJ appliance.

Tanya M.

2/1/19

When my daughter first came in she was in a lot of pain. She had a hard time opening her mouth because her jaw would lock. She would talk with her mouth closed. It’s only been a week since the mouth piece was put in and she has no pain and can talk with her mouth opened without her jaw locking. This is amazing! Thank you!

Laura R.

12/20/18

I originally saw Dr. Patel in 2009 for jaw/face pain. He immediately explained TMJ to me and a treatment plan. Within a few days, I had my appliance and was out of pain. For 9 years, I didn’t experience that pain again. After many months of chronic stress, my jaw pain returned, worse that ever. I called Dr. Patel; he saw me the same day, promised a new designed appliance the next morning. Within hours of wearing the appliance, the pain was gone. A week later my jaw felt great. Thank you Dr. Patel!

G. Loufek

9/27/18

To All of You Living With TMJ…

TMJ is Real! Even if your dentist says “there are no specialists,” “you just have to get used to it,” “you just learn to live with it.”

Come see Dr. Patel! Listen, really listen to what he has to say.

In one week of being fitted with my appliance I gained full range of motion with my neck (without pain, no jaw pain while wearing my appliance) (and minimal pain when it was removed for meals), and I began to feel rested when I woke up in the mornings. In ONE WEEK!

After months of physical therapy, dental visits, ENT visits, and days and nights of pain, and months (years) of being told, essentially there was no hope for improvement, Dr. Patel and his amazing staff have made a difference.

In one week is this life changing, I can hardly wait to move through the treatment.

Ryan

“Dr. Patel has given me my life back. After suffering miserably for over a year and visiting approximately 70 to 80 doctors in the Chicagoland area, Dr. Patel was able to correctly diagnose and begin correcting my symptoms in weeks.

I was on the verge of losing my marriage, job, home, and cars, as I was barely able to function. I currently have over $60,000 in medical bills. I had seizures, problems concentrating and thinking, hearing and vision loss. I clocked up 10 hours on the MRI table at different medical institutions. I was told I had incurable diseases or conditions like Meniere’s disease, MS, or Lou Gehrig’s disease.

When I came into Dr. Patel’s office I had immediately come from another doctor that told me that she had no idea what was wrong with me. Dr. Patel explained to me what was wrong with me – I had TMJ. I was put in a dental appliance made by Dr. Patel and his staff and gradually over the course of the next few weeks my symptoms became less and less noticeable.

Today, I am back at work and able to think. Today, I am on the road to recovery. Dr. Patel and his staff have helped me beyond comprehension. This letter does not put into perspective the level of suffering I went through or the level or relief I have experienced from Dr. Patel’s care.”

– Ryan

Dan L

“Before seeing Dr. Patel I was a loud snorer and I was constantly awakened by gasping for air or by my wife’s nudging me and asking me to roll over. The first night with the somnomed proved to be my last night of snoring. According to my wife my snoring is 100% cured. Since I was keeping my wife awake with my snoring, the somnomed was a two-for-one special; it cured her ‘sleep problem’ as well! As the director of Counseling and Wellness Innovations, I plan to refer my clients with snoring and sleep disorders to Dr. Patel.”

– Dan L

Joan M

Mother & Daughter with TMJ.

After several appointments with many referrals and a trip to the E.R. I Started doing my own research and stumbled across Dr. H. Patel. I am so happy and relieved that after my daughters first appointment she felt relief. As we were not passed off to another referrel. Dr.Patel is truly an Angel. he is very good at what he does. he’s not pushy and not in a hurry. I’m so happy that my daughter can eat and smile again. Many thanks to you Dr. Patel for giving my daughters smile back.

– Joan M.

Marie Z

“I had severe pain on the right side of my face and teeth. I was very upset because I had visited other specialists who could not tell me what was causing this. When I visited Dr. Patel he was very thorough with his examination and under stood what was going on with me immediately. I was fitted with a mouth piece that I only take off when I’m eating. As soon as he had me wear it for the first time the results for me were immediate. I no longer need strong pain meds to function. I have over 15 years experience working in the health care fields. Dr. Hitesh Patel is highly recommended.”

– Marie Z

Anna

“I am so thankful I found you. The pain, numbness, and clogged feeling in my ear and face were unbearable. My regular dentist did not want to go any further and suggested I see someone else. Thank God it turned out to be you. When I called the office, Diane was great in getting me in the next morning. Dr. Patel, you and your staff go beyond help. I feel like a part of your family.

It was a long road for me. It took some trips back for adjustments, but it has worked. I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I would refer you to anyone. ”

– Anna

Diana V

“When I was 19 I was in a car accident, which caused me to have great problems with my jaw. Now 19 years later the problems with my jaw became dramatically worse. I was referred to Dr. Patel from my dentist. Dr. Patel advised that the problem I am having with the clinching of my teeth, my sinus problems, and the pain in my neck and my back all stem from TMJ.

Within three visits Dr. Patel had me fit for the mouthpiece to have my jaw realigned. Of course I did not believe this was going to help all symptoms. Within one day every symptom was gone. Dr. Patel is wonderful and his staff is great and very friendly. I can’t thank you enough Dr. Patel. ”

– Diana V

Susan L

“I’m not sure why it works, but it does! I’ve been struggling with TMJ for a few years and it’s been progressively getting worse. My dentist referred me after the night guard failed to help. You and your staff were friendly and knowledgeable. My three office visits were all on time, and in not time I was in my retainer. After wearing it for one week, my ear stopped hurting, my jaw didn’t hurt and I could open my mouth, sneeze and yawn without hurting! ”

– Susan L

Sharon M

“I have had a completely positive experience here at Dr. Patel’s office. His entire staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Dr. Patel has put me at ease about my TMJ and given me an end to my painful popping joint. Most importantly, he started me on a noninvasive treatment as opposed to surgery –which was a great fear of mine. I appreciate all he has done and would recommend him to anyone with similar problems as myself. ”

– Sharon M

Jennifer

“I had seen two TMJ specialists and an ENT before coming to Dr. Patel. All of their treatments caused more pain or only lessened it very briefly. Dr. Patel did a thorough exam and his staff did a wonderful job explaining the treatment. One day I was in intense pain and Dr. Patel squeezed me in that afternoon. Within two weeks, I had an orthodontic piece that took away all the pain. I am so grateful for Dr. Patel’s expertise and his kind and compassionate staff. ”

– Jennifer

Gerry L

“Dr. Patel takes a holistic approach to his patients needs. His treatment involved the teeth, gums, the pain, the bite, TMJ, and a healthy mouth before even addressing my desire to smile again and no longer hide what my teeth looked like and how they made me feel.

We all want a Hollywood smile and he is capable of doing that, but really personalizes and develops a individual plan that is best to the patient. His concern and plan involved relieving my muscle pain. I didn’t know life without that kind of jaw and neck pain. My personal comfort was paramount throughout all the procedures necessary to achieve something I never dreamed would be possible, a healthy mouth and a nice smile.

Dr. Patel and his entire staff changed a lifetime of dread and fear into a positive and productive experience. The combined efforts of Dr. Patel, Desiree, and David all working together created a reassuring, comfortable and always cheerful environment. It didn’t take long to see how much they all love their work and the end result showed in my self-esteem, confidence and willingness to smile. His insight and expertise changed my life. Seeing Dr. Patel’s delight in how I felt shows what passion he has for his work. ”

– Gerry L

Debra G

“After an unbelievably busy year, I am finally having a chance to reflect upon the many positive changes affecting my life and you, Dr. Patel, top my list of blessings. It has taken at least 13 years of visiting a large number of specialists, chiropractors, massage therapists, etc. to finally be referred to you for TMJ. I had never realized that so many of my neck, back and headaches stemmed from a misaligned jaw, not to mention the gradual deterioration of my teeth due to constant grinding.

Your treatment program has lessened my daily pain by at least 60%, which is a Godsend. I now realize that my condition is manageable and my teeth may be saved. You have always listened to my concerns and complaints about pain and never once made me feel silly or that it was all in my head, like previous specialist I’ve met. Special thank you also to your wife Bena, who is a very special lady and always makes me feel warm and welcome! Her positive energy and admiration, love and respect toward you is clearly communicated, giving us patients, yet another level of comfort.

Please know how grateful I am for you, your wife, and staff and how much I respect you as a person and value you as a physician. Thank you from the bottom of my heart! ”

– Debra G

Joyce H

“When I came to Dr. Patel, my TMJ was very severe. I didn’t realize until I started with wearing the plate that it was making a difference immediately after placing the plate on my bottom teeth. My vision got clearer and brighter immediately and just kept getting better.

I also noticed I was standing much straighter. I also had headaches all the time, which have gone away. Also my jaw always ached into the ear and I wouldn’t open it very wide, but after some months this also improved greatly.

I didn’t realize at the time that TMJ affected my structure so profoundly. Wearing the plate felt so well from the beginning and now a year and a half later, I wont go without it because of the good quality of life it has provided me.”

– Joyce H

Nancy P

“Thank you so much for you help in diagnosing and solving my TMJ problem. I was in lots of pain and tried using dental floss, a straw, and pain pills to find some relief. Having no success and continuing to be in pain I sought your help. Your X-rays confirmed a problem. I remember telling you that the pain I felt was on the upper left side of my mouth, but you said that the problem was actually on the lower right side. That’s why you’re the expert doctor!

Upon receiving my appliance I felt relief right away – some pressure but no pain. I did not really enjoy wearing the appliance, but stuck with the plan of wearing it for four months and then gradually decreasing to just at night. I admit to being doubtful that this would work, but am thrilled to report no pain! Thank you!”

– Nancy P

Troy, Jerry, Loraine

“I am so excited for the changes in Troy that I had to sit down and write you a letter. I want to give you a brief history of Troy before we came to see you. Troy never felt good most of the time. He always had the look of stress on his face. Whenever the home health aids came to do his exercise, he just dreaded it. His eyes bothered him so much when he was around light. He could hardly move his legs when I tried to walk him.

Now I will give you a brief history since he received his appliance. His attitude has totally changed for the good. He now looks forward to doing his exercise. The health care workers say he does his exercise much better. Doesn’t even need to rest much in between sessions. They say each time they come he does better. His face is more relaxed and not so stressful looking. Smiles a lot more. He can also tolerate light better.

We just can’t thank you enough for all you have done for Troy. We love you guys loads!”

– Troy, Jerry, Loraine

Lisa G

“I was diagnosed with and suffered from severe carpal tunnel syndrome in my right wrist and mild carpal tunnel syndrome in my left wrist for a year and a half following the birth of my second child. I had a regular follow-up visit with Dr. Patel when I was wearing my right wrist brace most of the day. Dr. Patel was very curious about the pain and discomfort I was suffering from my carpal tunnel syndrome.

Dr. Patel suggested that grinding my teeth at night could have possibly caused the pain from my carpal tunnel syndrome. Dr. Patel then made a simple adjustment to my bite and within an instant I had a cool, tingling, wonderful feeling in my right arm that gave me movement to my fingers and wrist I have not experienced in a long time. I cried happy tears and remembered giving Dr. Patel a great big hug.

I left that appointment not needing to wear my wrist brace. I had to come back for two slight adjustments and also to pick up my grind plate. It has been approximately six weeks since I have been using my grind plate on a daily basis. I have been able to use my hands and wrists without any discomfort. I am very pleased with the outcome. ”

– Lisa G

Tamina C

“Don’t live with the pain!! There truly is help out there with Dr. Patel. I came in with severe TMJ pain and learned that most of my other aches and pains could be alleviated with an orthotic. Yeah, right! I just have to see this! You’re telling me that my whole life is going to change for the better. Well, I’ve just had the first fitting for my orthotic and practically the first time the doctor put it in, my pain started to ease. Not just the jaw pain, but also the neck pain. And most of all the emotional pain of being like this for so long. Thank you Dr. Patel and staff. ”

– Tamina C

Stephanie

“Dr. Patel and his wonderful staff have helped me more than they know. This past year I endured my first year of college. Moving away from home and handling the stress of midterms, finals and new relationships left me with continuous pain in my jaw. My pain only increased to the point where I was unable to open my mouth to eat. I would wake up feeling as though I had been gnawing on my headboard all night.

When I went to Dr. Patel, who was highly recommended by my dentist, he told me technically I was unable to eat a Big Mac, the opening of my jaw was so small. I went through hours of tests, which the office made as easy as they possibly could. After I received my guard and the intense instruction to wear it always, I came back for a visit a week later with no pain and my jaw opening twice as wide.

Two weeks later, I was sitting at the dinner table crying because I could actually eat. I am slowly healing thanks to this wonderful office. During my first visit Dr. Patel told me all my options and clearly explained to me costs and benefits of each. With their suggestions, I made the right decision for treatment and I truly trust them. Thank you, even with the smallest piece of plastic you made some magic and helped me so much. Even with a wider jaw opening this has greatly changed my life for the better. ”

– Stephanie

Sharon V

“I am pleased to say that through the TMJ treatment my pain was significantly reduced in the first week and in the second week, it was gone completely. My bite improved so that teeth that weren’t touching are now touching again and I can open my mouth wide without pain. I was skeptical about this treatment working, but am very pleased that it has.”

– Sharon V

Judith B

“While Dr. Patel is the third dentist I’ve seen since October 2005 for my TMJ disorder, he is the first to fit me with a splint that has fit like a glove since day one and has not needed so much as a slight adjustment on subsequent visits. His is the first splint that has not cracked from chewing. Dr. Patel is the first to communicate his treatment plan and my various options. He and his staff are the most professional and his office is managed with precision equal to his work.”

– Judith B

Mildred G

“I’m writing this letter to let you know that I feel so fortunate to have found you. I have been suffering severe ear pains related to my TMJ for more than a year. I have seen many doctors and dentists with various areas of specialties in the effort to find a cure.

When I finally went to your clinic and you created an oral orthotic, the relief that I felt was tremendous. The combination of your orthotic adjustments, physical therapy and chiropractic back alignment made me feel great. Lately, I have been enjoying my life.

I also want to give compliments to the work that your staff does for me, especially Desiree. They are very professional and very friendly.

– Mildred G

Rhonda

“Dr. Patel and his staff are great. I was having intense jaw pain, I could not close my mouth. I had been living on soup! My dentist referred me to Dr. Patel. The staff was able to work me in the next day. Dr. Patel examined my jaw and advised me of the treatment he recommended. In two days, he had an appliance for my lower teeth. I started wearing it 24/7. Within 24 hours, my pain was gone and I could close my mouth with a normal bite. Today I only wear my appliance at night and I have had no pain. Thank you Dr. Patel and staff.”

– Rhonda

Alyssa H

“I have always had severe ear pain, with tubes in my ears as a child. I thought I would have pain and problems with my ears for the rest of my life, and at age 19, I had a long way to go. I went to my ENT specialist and was diagnosed with TMJ. I had been fitted with an uncomfortable and useless appliance from my general dentist. My ENT referred me to Dr. Patel’s office. The staff was so accommodating and scheduled my appointment so quickly. I felt like I was already a priority as a new patient. Upon my 1 week checkup after receiving my new appliance I had no ear pain and a comfortable opening of SO+mm (before 12)! Thank you!”

– Alyssa H

Gina G

“Thank you so much for helping me feel like myself again! When i came in for the first time with the pain/clicking in my jaw and the inability to open my mouth fully, I didn’t realize that the sleepless nights, headaches and neck pain had any relation to my jaw. I am excited to tell you how my life has changed. I sleep through the night, I have no more neck pain or headaches and my jaw pain is gone!!!! I have more energy during the day and am a happier person.”

– Gina G

Lauri D

“As a relatively new patient of Dr. Patel’s, I have already experienced relief from debilitating symptoms due to a dislocated tmj. Within a couple of days of using the appliance Dr. Patel & Desiree created for me, I experienced less jaw pain & more importantly improved hearing & mobility in my neck. Physical therapy for the muscle knots & pain in my neck was no longer needed. The malaise I felt lifted soon after as well.

In addition, Dr. Patel suggested a sleep study be conducted which I initially felt was unnecessary. Imagine my surprise & appreciation for his persistence & insight when I was found on 2 separate measures to have severe sleep apnea. I am currently being treated by a pulmonologist who recommended CPAP. I am forever indebted to Dr. Patel & excited to see how this will change my life! Symptoms that I attributed to existing conditions are actually indicative of sleep apnea, without other doctors that I placed my trust in, suggesting.
The team at Advanced Centers for Sleep Disorders & Facial Pain exhibits an element of dedication & genuine interest and concern for their patients that I’ve never experienced before. Very gifted, dedicated professionals! My prayers have been answered.”

– Lauri D

Jake P.

3/13/19

After being in so much pain and discomfort, it is mind-blowing the progress that has been made in my first week. The pain has gone away, and I can’t remember the last time I was able to eat without pain or discomfort.